Good Time OST release – music news

Oneohtrix Point Never returns with his new album Good Time Original Motion Picture Soundtrack. Fresh from the Cannes Film Festival, the film Good Time is directed by Josh and Benny Safdie. Robert Pattinson takes the lead role (in a very different part for him), alongside Jennifer Jason Leigh. The crime thriller follows Pattinson’s character, Connie, in a twisted odyssey through the New York underworld in a desperate attempt to get his brother out of jail.

Oneohtrix Point Never (a.k.a. Daniel Lopatin) received the prestigious Cannes Soundtrack Award at this year’s festival for the score. Among his competition this year were the likes of Jonny Greenwood, Jed Kurzel and Ibrahim Maalouf. Previous winners include Cliff Martinez for The Neon Demon (2016), Lim Giong for The Assassin (2015) and Howard Shore for Map to the Stars (2014).

“The Pure and the Damned”, an original song – also the the closing theme of the film –  features a guest vocal and lyrics written by Iggy Pop. The former Stooges frontman brings a world-weary quality to the track.

Oneohtrix Point Never and the Safdie brothers became close collaborators through a shared love of cult genre movies and music. Their level of collaboration here achieves a symbiosis of picture and score. Mundane events become dramatic, montages become mini-operas.

The result is a genuine listening experience rivalling his landmark studio albums. It also holds some of his most striking and complete individual moments. “Leaving The Park”, for example, takes the arpeggio-laced crime scores of the 1970s and infuses Oneohtrix Point Never’s stranger-beauty. Throughout the soundtrack, diegetic audio is interspersed and mutated; creating new sound palettes.

The Good Time Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is out on Friday 11 August 2017 on Warp Records via Inertia Music.

Other reviews you might enjoy:

1 thought on “Good Time OST release – music news

Comments are closed.